Week 9: Artist Interview

IMG_6785

Lesley Nishigawara

This week there weren’t many artist, I actually only saw 1 but still her work was interesting. I feel when looking at her art that it was like I had slight OCD. I say this, even though I have no disorder, because unlike most of the art this semester she had it perfectly symmetrical. When I see art or images that are put together this way, my soul feels complete in a way. It is the same feeling you get when your your colored pencils are laid on your desk all the same length and in color order. Red, orange, yellow, green, purple, brown, black. I can’t help but feel this way when look at her artwork.

IMG_6781

Here you can see her artwork. This entire process took her 10 hours which was of a period of time and I think came out amazing. Just think about the time you take fixing your hair, you probably have way more on your head than the string in this art, but at max you will take 3 hours. This process really shows the work she put into her project and how determined she is. The basic concept being “how information is revealed through systems and the resulting patterns they create.” This made me think of a network or computer and the the materials inside to make it run. Even though you do not see inside a computer it is all laid out and organized. This way if you ever need to reach in and gather information, or fix a broken part, you are able to without any trouble. This is how I interpreted her concept and it is easily seen in her work.

Leave a Reply

