Week 11: Artist Interview

IMG_6939

Dawn Ertl

All I can think is string on string. Walking into this gallery I was amazed by all the colors and textures around me. Weaving with plastic bottles, plastic bags, and straws you can see clearly in her art.  After talking with the artist I found that she had dyed all the weaving herself and hung most of it alone. The overall placement of the weavings she had already known that they would be hung and that in my opinion, really made it work. She is using this art piece as her thesis for her Masters in Fine Arts and in total this job took her around 6 months to weave, and a year to complete. The artist is a very “bubbly” person where she gives off a great personality that makes the atmosphere comfortable and upbeat. I felt the colors she used where perfect and contrasted well under the lights. Overall this piece was beautiful and free flowing and if I was this artistic I would make it have it hanging all over my room.

Leave a Reply

