Week 11: Artist Interview

IMG_7276

Gabriel Garcia

Walking into this gallery all I could think about was the word “PUSSY” on the wall. A minute later after reading all the quotes, I realized what I didn’t see. I first thought it was just hurtful things people say to each other but then realized it was only towards males and their masculinity. Gabriel named this collection Toxic Masculinity, which fits these pieces perfectly. This collection, which has been worked on since January, is also his thesis project. The feelings I had when looking at the art were pain and sorrow because I never thought that so much pressure was put on males. I understand what the artist is saying and I really feel guilty because I to set a standard for males. This collection is beautiful and even in black/grey the true color of the message really stands out.

Leave a Reply

